November 08, 2012

Golfer Disqualifies Himself 6 Days After Tourney: After advancing out of the first stage of the Q School, Blayne Barber realized he'd penalized himself one stroke instead of two for brushing a leaf in a sand trap while making a shot. He turned himself in for signing an incorrect scorecard, causing his disqualification and letting six players tied in 19th place advance to the next round because they moved up to the cutoff at 18th. "I knew I needed to do the right thing. I knew it was going to be disqualification," Barber said. "Doing the right thing and doing what I know is right in my heart and in my conscience is more important than short-term success."

posted by rcade to golf at 08:57 PM - 4 comments

I swear some days, golf is the last bastion of actual sportsmanship.

posted by Drood at 12:31 AM on November 09, 2012

Most other days golf is a bastion of archaic, pointless rules.

posted by Ying Yang Mafia at 10:30 AM on November 09, 2012

I'm with you, YYM. This stuff is foolishness more than sportsmanship to me.

posted by bperk at 02:44 PM on November 09, 2012

I think it's both. The rule is dumb, but the effort to comply with it is the height of sportsmanship.

posted by rcade at 02:48 PM on November 09, 2012

You're not logged in. Please log in or register.